Broadcast Meteorology Committee

NWA Digital Seal Press Release

NWA Broadcaster's and Digital Seal of Approval Information

NWA Broadcast Meteorology Committee and Seal of Approval Qualifications and Procedures (dated 19 October 2014)
The Qualifications and Procedures document provides information on the purpose and composition of the NWA Broadcast Meteorology Committee. The application process to earn an NWA Television/Radio Seal of Approval or an NWA Digital Seal is detailed in the document. Additionally, recertification qualifications and display procedures for NWA Seals of Approval are provided. For more information, contact the NWA Executive Director at

NWA Seal Exam Study Portal  More than 300 MetEd modules produced by the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR) and presented in 7 categories for the Seal Exam.

Recertification Documentation   This provides a link to a checklist that should be included with Recertification materials. It also includes a sample letter from a National Weather Service Office to document training through the NWS Familiarization option.

NWA Seal holders, please mail all recertification materials to:
National Weather Association
350 David L Boren Blvd, Suite 2750
Norman, OK 73072-7131

NWA Digital Seal Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Seal Holders

NWA Television & Radio Weathercaster Seal holders

NWA Digital Seal holders

NWA Broadcast Meteorology Committee:

Mission Statement
"Promote ethics and excellence in broadcast meteorology, through continuing education and professional development, and award the NWA Seal of Approval to those weathercasters who meet or exceed the standards of the National Weather Association."

Broadcast Meteorology Committee Chair:

Miles Muzio
21800 Cottonwood Ct.
Tehachapi, CA 93561

  • Seal Committee Chair:
    Chris Dunn
    4016 N Black Canyon Hwy
    Phoenix, AZ 85017-4730
    (602) 650-0717

  • Digital Seal Evaluation Board members:

    Bill MurrayMike MogilLarry RiceJohn HartDr. Bohumi Svoma

  • Seal Evaluation Board members:

    Benjamin E. SmithMike RawlinsJosh RubensteinCorey Christiansen
    Ben SchottJustin ChambersSpencer AdkinsChris Tomer
    James Paul DiceDr. Scott RochetteJennifer ZeppelinMike Witcher
    Byron MortonTim SimpsonKen WatersJason Nicholas
    Morgan PalmerRob HaswellCrystal EggerKeith Stellman
    Tammie SouzaRoland SteadhamJohn Toohey-MoralesFidel ‘’Phil’’ Ferro
    Jose M Garcia Jr

  • Seal Recertification Chair:
    Shawn Cable
    300 N. Dakota Avenue
    Sioux Falls, SD 57104

  • Testing Chair:
    Dr. Pat Market
    U of Missouri, 331 ABNR Building
    Columbia, MO 65211
    (573) 882-1496

  • Public Relations Chair:
    Betsy Kling
    1333 Lakeside Avenue
    Cleveland, OH 44114-1159
    (216) 344-3407

  • Workshop Program Chair:
    Mike Goldberg
    3301 West Broad Street
    Richmond, VA 23230-5007

NWA TV/Radio Weathercaster Seal of Approval Logo

NWA Seal of Approval

NWA Seal holders can find this logo in eps and tga formats for download in the member portal.

NWA Digital Seal of Approval Logo

NWA Digital Seal of Approval