The National Weather Association 2013 Annual Awards were presented by President Bruce Thomas at the 16 October 2013 Annual Awards Luncheon. The luncheon was held during the NWA's 38th Annual Meeting at the North Charleston Convention Center in Charleston, South Carolina. Annual Award Committee members for 2013 were: Chairperson Jeffry Evans, Joseph Dellicarpini, Fred Glass, Chris Higgins, Eric Lenning, Jay Martinelli, David Metze, Dan Miller, Mike Paddock, Kris Sanders, Matt Stalley, and Dan Valle.

Winners of the best student Annual Meeting presentations were announced at the NWA Awards Luncheon too.

Operational Achievement Individual Award

Richard Smith – National Weather Service Forecast Office Norman, OK

For outstanding service through the advancement of social media and other visionary tools to save lives, and for selfless service in support of NWS operations before, during and after Oklahoma's deadly tornadoes of May 2013.

Operational Achievement Group Award

National Weather Service Forecast Office Binghamton, NY

For outstanding service to the citizens of New York and Pennsylvania during the historic flood event on September 6–7, 2011 associated with the remnants of Tropical Storm Lee.

T. Theodore Fujita Research Achievement Award

Paul Markowski – Department of Meteorology, Pennsylvania State University

For incisive research directly applicable to operational forecasting which has allowed significant advances in our understanding and forecasting tornadic and nontornadic thunderstorm environments.

Walter J. Bennett Public Service Award

Nancy Gaarder – Omaha–World Herald

For her dedication and passion to communicate timely, accurate, and thorough meteorological, climatological, and hydrological issues to the citizens of Nebraska and western Iowa for the past 17+ years.

Public Education Award

Mike Mogil – How The Weatherworks/Mathworks Tutoring

For his endless passion and desire to educate people of all ages in weather and science through weather camps, outreach events, books, tutoring, mentoring, and more.

Broadcaster of the Year Award

Brian Lapis – WWLP22 News (NBC affiliate)

For his superior performance and coverage during the June 1, 2011 EF3 tornado that affected southwest and south central Massachusetts.

Aviation Meteorology Award

National Weather Service WFO/CWSU Albuquerque, NM

For significantly increasing weather awareness and services for aviation around New Mexico and the surrounding area, with an emphasis on coordination with core partners and outreach for the general aviation community.

Local Chapter Award

North Florida NWA Chapter

For taking chapter involvement in the National Weather Association to another level through innovative member engagement, community outreach, and a general enthusiasm for upholding the ideals of the NWA.

The Larry R. Johnson Special Award

Oklahoma Mesonet

For operating a comprehensive observing network with a 20–year legacy of exemplary service for the residents of Oklahoma that earned the title of America's ‘gold standard ’ network from the National Research Council.

J. Kevin Lavin Leadership Award

Jane Cage – Joplin Citizens Advisory Recovery Team

For her outstanding and selfless service, and exemplary leadership, in helping Joplin, MO rebuild a more resilient community after the catastrophic tornado in 2011.

Special Lifetime Achievement Award

Charles A. Doswell III – Doswell Scientific Consulting

For his exceptional service and contributions to the operational forecasting and research communities through high–quality scientific research, educational workshops, and mentorship of colleagues and students.

Member of the Year Award

Matthew Bunkers – NWA Publications Committee Chair, Rapid City, SD

In recognition and gratitude for the roll out of the Journal of Meteorology which has greatly enhanced the quality of the association's published research and significantly decreased costs and review time.

2012 Awards Presented at the 2013 Awards Luncheon

J. Kevin Lavin Leadership Award

Bill Read

For outstanding leadership and service to the National Weather Association (NWA) and Weather Enterprise as National Hurricane Center Director, MIC WFO Houston, and Past President and Councilor for the NWA.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Lance Bosart – State University of New York, University at Albany

For over 40 years of contributions to meteorology through operationally-relevant research, direct interactions with forecasters, and educating a generation of researchers, professors, forecasters, and NOAA employees.

The NWA Annual Awards Program recognizes the professional as well as the volunteer. The emphasis is on the people who perform the day-to-day tasks of providing meteorological information and support services to the public.

The NWA is a member-led, all inclusive, 501(c)6 non-profit, professional association supporting and promoting excellence in operational meteorology and related activities. The NWA mission is: Connecting Operational Meteorologists in Pursuit of Excellence in Weather Forecasting, Communication and Service.